Learning to Love Self

Standard

So, I’m the kinda girl who hates leaving the house without make up on her face.  I’m the kinda girl who made sure her toe nails were painted ready for labour and that on the actual day wanted to do her face and her hair so she’d look half decent in the photos.  I’m the kinda girlw ho asks people to keep my head out of photos if it happens to be a day when I’ve not bothered putting make up on as I’m not going out.  I don’t want people seeing the uneven skin tone that I see or the scars on my face from when I was troubled with acne.  I want people to see someone beautiful.  Since having my baby girl, I’ve had a lot of time to think about lessons I’d like her to learn in life, and God really spoke to me about this area of my life and how heavily I depend on makeup for people’s approval.  This isn’t a trait I want to pass on to my daughter.  I don’t want her to feel that beauty is only superficial and that natural God given beauty isn’t enough so it must be covered up.  These are thoughts I want her to live by:

1 Peter 3:3-4- Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.

 

“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.  For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.  For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.  For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.  For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone.  People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.  As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”  ―    Sam Levenson

I want my daughter to spend her time not chasing after superficial beauty, but cultivating a beautiful character, one of grace and gentleness, compassion and understanding.  You can have all the outward beauty in the world, but if there’s nothing to match it on the inside, it doesn’t count for a lot, and it won’t get you far in life unless you enjoy the superficial.

It’s taken many years for me to get to this point where I feel free from the prison of make up if you will.  I guess God started this change in me when a hair cut went wrong just before my daughter’s birth, and I felt stripped of something I had relied on to make me pretty, and something prompted me for the last few weeks to just try going with no make up.  My skin felt so much lighter instead of feeling weighed down and no longer did I have the feeling like it was melting underneath the foundation in hot weather.  I didn’t have to worry about it getting on my clothes etc etc.  Now, I’m not saying never wear make up or that I won’t ever wear it, I just want to teach my little girl that it’s her inner soul that will make her beautiful all the way to the outside, and it’s far better to eat healthily to keep the outer skin looking its best than trying to cover it up.

 

2 responses »

  1. Isn’t it amazing how much you can learn from a baby who can’t even talk yet? Becoming a mom makes you really reevaluate a lot of things about yourself – I know it did for me. It has made me a better person. And just wait until your little baby gets a little older. The learning just keeps going!

    • Isn’t it just!! I’m expecting to have my heart rebuked and humbled countless times over as she grows up. It’s amazing also how quickly priorities change after a baby comes along.

Leave a Reply

