Unexpected Visitor

Standard

Last night, we had a very unexpected visitor to our home.  One of my dogs was barking incessantly in the garden.  This is not unusual, so I went out to tell her to be quiet, but I found her barking at a hedge near the bottom of the garden in such a way that I knew there was something in there she wasn’t quite sure of but that she wanted me to see.  Down I went with baby to find the cause of all the commotion.  I saw nothing, nothing but a grey something that could possibly be a football come over from the neighbours’ kids.  Again, that is quite a regular occurrence, and I thought she had just scared herself by seeing the ball in the hedge.  So I laughed, told her to be quiet and walked off.  She continued to bark, and then I turned around to find her pulling a pigeon out from the hedge.  I assumed it was dead at first, and my dog, being a Flat Coat is quite partial to finding a dead bird or two, though she usually doesn’t bark and go crazy.  I thought I knew the drill, she’d hold it expecting me to chase after her like she normally does upon finding a dead bird.  But, wait, she’s carrying it up the garden and setting it down and looking at me expectantly waiting for me to come join her.  So I trek back down the garden and she backs off from the bird, not her usual game.  I take a closer look and find the bird is alive but looks like a cat has tried to attack it.  I take baby inside and ask my husband to come down and put the dogs in their bed as I felt the poor pigeon had had enough commotion.  I got an old towel and gently draped it over the bird and scooped it up.  It was still alive, but quite frightened.  My husband found a box and we punched loads of air holes in it and lined it with newspaper put a dish of water in and some bird seed.  I carefully placed the bird in the box, we set the box somewhere quiet and called the RSPCA.  They had told us they would be out soon to fetch the bird.  Two hours later, we had heard nothing, so we called again, and someone called us back to say they were very sorry, but it would now have to wait til the morning, but we had done all the right things and the pigeon would be fine like that til they got there.

I checked on the pigeon twice before going to bed and it had moved a bit and on the last occasion it seemed more relaxed and its breathing had steadied.  This morning, my husband went to check on it, and, sadly, it had passed away.  We weren’t able to keep the bird alive, but we were able to create a safe haven for it to pass away in without the risk of further attack from any animals in such vulnerable state.  It got me thinking of a verse in the Bible in Matthew 10:29-31, where we are told that God cares for each and every bird.  He ensures they have food, He knows when one dies and He cares.  But oh, how much more He cares for us!  And just liked I provided the bird with a safe haven, a shelter in its time of need, so God does the same for me.  When life wounds me in some way, which it does, He is there to gently swoop me up, and He holds me in His arms, a safe haven against the storms of life, He comforts me and nurtures me and gives me the time and space to recover from whatever trial came my way, the same way I comfort and care for my daughter.  How awesome a God we have.

His Eye Is On The Sparrow

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heaven and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
Refrain

I sing because I’m happy,
I sing because I’m free,
For His eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches me.

“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

