Slow Cooker Apple Oatmeal

Standard

Seeing as my daughter and I are both still quite sick, and my mum and her homemade soup have gone, I decided we needed a nice breakfast treat.  We generally always have oatmeal for breakfast as it’s healthy and keeps us full for a long time.  I decided I wanted to change it up a gear just to cheer us up.  I don’t tend to make recipes with sugar in it due to my battle with Candida, but this recipe that I found last night while googling, just sounded too good to miss out on for a one off, so this is what I cooked this morning:

 

1 cup of oatmeal

2 cups milk

2 T brown sugar

1 T vanilla

pinch of salt (we don’t put salt into our cooking currently for my daughter’s kidneys’ sake)

1-2 apples chopped

 

I also added a good dash of cinnamon to ours.

 

Add oats, chopped apple and milk to the slow cooker

Put in the brown sugar, vanilla, and salt (if adding) as well as the cinnamon if you like it

Mix it all together

Cover and cook on high for 1-2 hours or low for 2-3 hours

check consistency of oats to make sure they are right for you.

 

I cooked ours for just over 2 hours.  We did have a bowl left over, and I don’t know if it’s because we are both feeling poorly or because the apple filled us up more than our normal plain oatmeal, but I’d say this quantity would give 2-3 people 1 decent serving.

Leave a Reply

