A Heart Stopping Moment

Standard

I’m sure motherhood will be filled with many heart stopping moments, but my first came yesterday.  You know the kind; where everything suddenly goes into slow motion play as you try to get your brain to think straight and work out a plan.  Miss E was having her bath and we were having fun playing with the bath toys.  My husband told me he would call me when he got to work and let me know how the roads were ice wise so we would know whether or not to venture out.  2 hours after his estimated arrival time I had still not received a call.  So, I started to get a little bit concerned (ok very concerned) that maybe he’d ended up having an accident due to ice.  I decided I should call him.  In the brief seconds of me looking down at my phone hitting call and looking back up, Miss E had somehow managed to get hold of my razor which was well out of her reach (or so I thought) and had the whole blade in her mouth.  THUD < PANIC> THUD.  What to do?!??  I didn’t want to scare her by shrieking in the wild panic I felt on the inside and make her jump or she might shred her tongue, but I didn’t want her to bite down on it either coz the same thing would happen.  Somehow, I managed very calmly to tell her that it wasn’t a toy and as I leaned over the bath to retrieve the razor she relaxed her mouth so I was able to get it off her easily and with no harm to her whatsoever.  WOW, I don’t think I have fully recovered yet from the shock.  That razor is going as far out of reach as I can get it from now now.  I do not want a repeat of that little incident again!  What heart stopping moments have you experienced as a parent?

Leave a Reply

