Yoghurt Fun

Standard

I have seen countless blogs of parents whose children as young as 7 months old are happily doodling away with crayons on paper.  My daughter is not one of those!!  She is still very much in a stage of “I’m gonna chew it and if it doesn’t taste good I’m gonna throw it”.  We even got her some crayola beginners crayons, but that didn’t help.  It always results in me chasing round after crayons as they roll away on the floor, telling her not to eat them, and the page ends up being filled with my doodles as I try to show her what the crayons are actually for.  Still, I wanted to get some creative colour work in with her even at this stage, and I wanted to make it multi sensory.  I have read of people making their own safe paints for babies who are still at the stage of tasting and also of people who use things like chocolate mousse.  So we were inspired and used a big pot of natural yoghurt which cost me 50p and various colours of natural food dye.  I poured the yoghurt into 6 of the sections on my muffin tray as I only had 6 colours to mix into the yoghurt.  Popped some dye in each one and gave the sections a stir.  I placed a big bath towel on the floor with two big sheets of construction paper (sugar paper) on top.  I then set the tray with the yoghurt on this with utensils like spoons and a whisk and let my daughter loose.  She enjoyed mixing the colours and we talked about the different colours and about how they were mixing (well more me as she can’t say any coherent words yet!), and of course she loved eating the yoghurt!  She dipped her big spoon in repeatedly to get some more……..the blue seemed to be here favourite to eat!  Here are a few snapshots of our time.

Invitation To Play

Invitation To Play

 

 

mixing

mixing

 

 

squelching

squelching

 

 

tasting

tasting

 

 

a very good first masterpiece ;)

a very good first masterpiece 😉

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

