Matilda Mae

Standard

DSC03977

 

 

This Thursday was the funeral of little Matilda Mae daughter of Jennie over at Edspire.  We set up this corner in the lounge where we had a candle burning for the day and a little bottle of bubbles sat beside it (Matilda loved bubbles).  So, on Thursday, every time upon leaving or entering the lounge this scene drew our hearts and minds to Matilda’s family as they said their final good byes to her and we were able to pray for them throughout the day.  This little girl’s life and death have touched so many.  It has touched me deeply for many reasons.  One of those reasons is that little girl’s personality and likes and dislikes were so much like my own little girl.  She has also taught me so much as well…..she has reminded me that life is precious, life is short, life is a gift, so make the most of it.  Enjoy every minute of it.  I hold my daughter tighter, I love on her more, I take as many photos as I can, I have lost the guilt, the pressure of keeping up with the house, because the time I spend with my daughter is more important than ensuring my house is as neat as pin incase guests might stop by.  Every time I think of Matilda Mae I want to go pick up my daughter and hold her tight because you just never know when it might be the last time.  I choose to be more gentle, more relaxed, more here all because of one special little girl’s life and tragic death.  I hurt so bad for her parents and what they are going through.  I cannot begin to imagine the pain and distress, the struggle of carrying on with life without your child.  This situation has reminded me that I am not guaranteed another minute never mind another year with my own child, so I need to make it count.

Matilda Mae, you are such a special angel child.  I am thankful to God for the joy you have brought to this earth in your all too short nine months.  Thank you for teaching, me, a stranger so much. Your Mummy is also such an inspiration; you were blessed with a wonderful family.  I wish I had the privilege of meeting you this side of heaven, but I know you are lighting up the skies with your beautiful smile and I look forward to meeting you one day. xxx

Leave a Reply

