A New Project

Standard

DSC04418

 

 

Miss E is getting a blind in her room tomorrow.  Her curtains are very light and, with the summer approaching, she has been struggling to sleep in an evening with light, so we have been pinning dark towels and bedsheets onto her curtain rail to keep the daylight out…classy huh?  😉  Her room so far has been quite neutral as we didn’t find out if we were having a girl or boy til the minute she was born.  Now it’s time to add a little girly touch to the room starting with her blind.  I decided I would make her a throw for her bed as well.  Mr P took me to a yarn and material shop near us on Saturday, and I picked up some King Cole Baby Comfort DK yarn.  I got home and found a youtube clip on how to crochet a granny square (that’s right folks, I have never in my life made a blanket before!).  So far I have 7 squares completed.  My plan is to join them all with lilac (I decided this after having been to the yarn store, so that will require a trip back) and then trim the entire thing with a cream edging.  Hopefully it works!  Thank goodness for youtube tutorials!!  🙂

 

DSC04420

 

 

DSC04423

 

 

DSC04424

 

 

I seem to be getting the squares together quite quickly now I have got the pattern into my head, so hopefully it won’t be too long before I can photograph the finished piece.

6 responses »

    • Thank you. I hope so, although I’ve not got round to joining them and trimming them…plenty of time for it to go horribly wrong yet haha. They are really fun coz you finish a square really quickly which makes you think you’ll do just another, then another.

    • Thank you. yes, I love granny squares. Definitely want to try some more. The tutorial video I watched was a single colour too, but after the first 2 rounds I figured out where to join in my colours so I did it anyway 🙂 I had a quick look at your blog and will definitely be back to check out some more. Lots of lovely creations you have made!

  1. Pingback: Nearly There Update | fromamummysheart

  2. Pingback: The Blanket Is Finally Finished! | fromamummysheart

Leave a Reply

