Please Forgive Me

Standard

Dearest Daughter,

Recently, I have been doing a lot of soul searching, a lot of praying.  There have been some areas of our relationship that could be better, areas of your behaviour that seem to have been getting progressively worse, and I had no answers as to how to fix them.  There is only one thing to do in such situations and that is to pray for wisdom and understanding.  I realised in these times, that my behaviour and feelings have a huge effect on you.  I learned that I should first look inward to see if there is anything I need to change before expecting you to change or thinking the issues we are facing are in anyway separated from me.  And as I looked inward I saw a lot of stuff that needed to be cleansed from my life, dealt with and shipped out of there.  I saw a woman who was filled with resentment for the terrible pregnancy and the fact it so impeded me from bonding with you, resentment for the ill health for months after that stopped me from doing much more than feeding you and caring for your basic needs again hindering bonding, resentment for the fact that just when it looked like your daddy and me were getting a break from all the stress we had gone through from the start of our marriage and could look at reconnecting the pregnancy came and took that away.

 

I love you with all my heart, I truly do.  There was, however, this huge wall to break down.  Now that I have faced the problem and am tackling it, our days are much smoother, and that crazy behaviour you have always displayed that drove me near insanity?  It’s pretty much gone 🙂  Amazing, huh?  I am so so sorry it has taken me 15 months to sort myself out in the inner self.  I am sorry this resentment has lived in there further blocking us from having a free and open relationship.  I am sorry you have missed out on so much due to the fact I have been so ill.  I am sorry that we did not get to connect while you were on the inside.  I will never understand why things were how they were, but I cannot change the past.  All I can do is ensure the present and future are beautiful as possible.  I can leave that past hurt, frustration and resentment behind, walking through the door that leads us into a more loving, gentler way of being together.

 

Please forgive me for my shortcomings as a woman and as your mother.  Please forgive me for the frustration I threw your way due to the fact I had not taken a long hard look inside my own heart and soul.  Please forgive me.

I love you, little one.  I am thankful for the gift of you in my life.  I am thankful for the changes your presence has caused. I am thankful for your love for me.  I am thankful for the lessons you teach me, and I will strive all my days to be a better mother for you.

 

All my love and sincere apologies,

Mummy xxx

2 responses »

  1. Wow. That is so wise to pray when your little one’s behaviour is so baffling to you. I will have to try it. You are brave to share the hard with the good. Thanks, friend. 🙂

    • Thanks! I don’t always remember in the heat of the moment, but on the days I don’t things go haywire and at the end of the day when I reassess I can see where I have gone wrong and caused the behaviour. Praise the Lord for grace and mercies new every morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

